2009 Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix Results


Surprisingly, 6 drivers did not finish the race. majority of the retirees were out because of the dramatic crash at the 1st lap! Sadly, although Kimi made a great performance from 16th position to 10th, he had a mechanical problem there while he was trying to overtake Heidfeld. His engine just stopped right there and he drove his car right at the side to retire 🙁 wah… Kimi could have done better than that if only his car did not roar to death.

Meanwhile, Felipe Massa was 4th on the grid but ended up 6th place because he nearly ran out of gas during the last laps and he had to sacrifice 5th place just to finish the race without having to pitstop. The Ferraris are really not getting their strategy straight now. Too bad for the driver potential that both Massa and Kimi have.

Alonso was deemed hero to have placed 5th pole position (taking it away from Massa) by its native land. More F1 drama at the next circuit!

I also tried live blogging and tested it to be fine. The only problem I had with it is that I had to leave my room immediately coz guests were there everywhere in my house and they would sleep in my room. Anyway, see you next week! Thanks for dropping by!

Spanish Grand Prix result:

1. Jenson Button, Brawn-Mercedes
2. Rubens Barrichello, Brawn-Mercedes
3. Mark Webber, Red Bull-Renault
4. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull-Renault
5. Fernando Alonso, Renault
6. Felipe Massa, Ferrari
7. Nick Heidfeld, BMW
8. Nico Rosberg, Williams-Toyota
9. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes
10. Timo Glock, Toyota
11. Robert Kubica, BMW
12. Nelson Piquet Jnr, Renault
13. Kazuki Nakajima, Williams-Toyota
14. Giancarlo Fisichella, Force India-Mercedes

Did not finish

Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 17 laps
Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren-Mercedes, 7 laps
Jarno Trulli, Toyota, 0 laps
Sebastien Buemi, Toro Rosso-Ferrari, 0 laps
Sebastien Bourdais, Toro Rosso-Ferrari, 0 laps
Adrian Sutil, Force India-Mercedes, 0 laps


Championship standings after the Spanish Grand Prix

Drivers’ championship
Jenson Button 41
Rubens Barrichello 27
Sebastian Vettel 23
Mark Webber 15.5
Jarno Trulli 14.5
Timo Glock 12
Fernando Alonso 9
Lewis Hamilton 9
Nick Heidfeld 6
Nico Rosberg 4.5
Heikki Kovalainen 4
Sebastien Buemi 3
Felipe Massa 3
Kimi Raikkonen 3
Sebastien Bourdais 1
Constructors’ championship
Brawn 68
Red Bull 38.5
Toyota 26.5
McLaren 13
Renault 9
Ferrari 6
Williams 4.5
Toro Rosso 4

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best deals on our WordPress themes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.